Traffic law generally refers to offenses committed while operating a motor vehicle on public roads and highways. Some of the more common traffic law violations include:
- Drunk driving (DWI/DUI)
- Driving while suspended or without a license
- Seat belt and child restraint violations
- Leaving the scene of an accident (Hit & Run)
Many people believe that a traffic violation is not a big deal and simply plead guilty and pay the fine and court costs. Only later do people realize that points have been added to their Missouri Driver's License and their insurance rates may increase as a result. Accumulation of points can lead to suspension or revocation of your Missouri Driver's License. In some cases, such as DUI/DWI or Driving While Suspended, there may be criminal charges and penalties involved.
If you accumulate a total of 8 or more points in 18 months, the Department of Revenue will suspend your driving privilege:
- 1st suspension — 30 days
- 2nd suspension — 60 days
- 3rd or more suspensions — 90 days
The Department of Revenue will revoke your driving privilege for one year if you accumulate:
- 12 or more points in 12 months
- 18 or more points in 24 months
- 24 or more points in 36 months
To reinstate your driving privilege for a point suspension or revocation you must provide the following:
- Proof of insurance (SR-22) and
- $20 reinstatement fee
- Proof of insurance (SR-22);
- $45 reinstatement fee; and
- Completion of a Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program (SATOP) or comparable program
Listed below are some violations and their point values if you plead guilty as charged:
- Speeding - 2 or 3 points
- No Proof of Insurance - 4 points
- DWI (First offense) - 8 points
- Driving While Suspended or Revoked - 12 Points
(automatic one year suspension)
Speeding tickets are the most common form of traffic violations. Amending speeding ticket charges can avoid points being added to your driving record and possibly prevent insurance increases as a result of a speeding ticket. Attorney Jason Fauss has helped many people amend a speeding ticket charge to a non-moving violation, which does not have any points.
No Proof of Insurance
Failure to provide proof of insurance after being pulled over can result in a large number of points being placed on your driving record. If you had insurance at the time or have obtained insurance since being pulled over, these violations can typically be amended to a non-point violation or dismissed.
Driving While Suspended | Driving Without License
Driving without a driver's license or while your driver's license is suspended can have severe penalties associated with a conviction. Attorney Jason Fauss can help you understand what options are available to you.
Every traffic violation has specific consequences and you should know if there are alternatives to pleading guilty. Contact traffic attorney Jason Fauss online or call 314-291-8899 for a FREE consultation to determine if you may be interested in pursing an alternative plea arrangement.